Fabio Guzmán Ariza elected to the Dominican Academy of Letters

The Dominican Academy of Letters (Academia Dominicana de la Lengua) announced on November 18 the election of our name partner, Fabio J. Guzmán Ariza, as its newest numerary member (académico de número). Mr. Guzmán Ariza will fill the seat left vacant by the death of academician Mariano Lebrón Saviñón.

A prolific author in the fields of the law and language, Mr. Guzmán Ariza was a member of the team of linguists which prepared The Dictionary of Dominican Spanish (2013). He is also the author of The Language of the Dominican Constitution (2012), and of the only translation into English of the Constitution of the Dominican Republic (2011).

The Dominican Academy of Letters was founded in 1927, modeled after the Spanish Royal Academy (1713) and other existing language academies in Spanish-speaking countries, as the highest authority on language issues in the Dominican Republic. The most prominent members of the Academy are known as académicos de número, and are elected for life by other academicians from scholars in the arts and sciences, Each academician holds a seat labeled with a letter from the Spanish alphabet; Mr. Guzmán Ariza will occupy seat E.

[November 2014]